RSS

“The Shepherd/Sheep Relationship”

03 Apr

lord-is-my-shepherd_t_nv

“Know that the LORD is God. He made us, and we belong to Him; we are His people, the sheep He tends.” Psalm 100:3 NCV

Dear Overcomers:

Eighty percent of Jesus’ listeners made their living off the land. Many were shepherds living on the mesa with their sheep. No flock ever grazed without a shepherd and no shepherd was ever off duty!

When the sheep wandered, the shepherd found them. When they fell, he picked them up and carried them!

Now, truth is, sheep aren’t the smartest of animals; they tend to stray into running creeks for water, causing their wool to grow heavy and as a result, they drown! Which is why they need a shepherd to lead them “…beside…still waters” (Psalm 23:2).

They have no natural defense – no claws or horns. Which is why they need a shepherd with “…a rod and…staff” Why? Because “…Your Shepherd’s
rod makes me feel safe.” (Psalm 23:4 NCV).

They have no sense of direction. Which is why they need a shepherd wise enough to lead them “in paths that are right” (Psalm 23:3). Or “in the
right direction”, says The Message Bible.

And if you think about it, we as believers, are very similar to those sheep!

We also tend to drown in circumstances we should have avoided! We also have no natural defense against our enemy who goes about as a “roaring lion, seeking someone to devour” (1 Peter 5:8 NAS). And far too often, we allow our feet to take us in the direction of a ‘dead end street!’

I’M SO THANKFUL THAT THE LORD IS MY SHEPHERD!

Just like sheep, most of our wounds come from living in the pasture! And as a result: Thorns prick! Rocks cut! Heads butt! Mosquitoes bite!

So just like their shepherd, our Shepherd regularly inspects us (His sheep) in search of wounds! Why? Because He doesn’t want today’s wounds to
become tomorrow’s infections! Hence, David writes: “We are His people, the sheep He tends.

The word ‘tends‘ has some beautiful meanings, such as: ‘to look after,’ ‘to care for,’ ‘to take care of,’ ‘to attend to,’ ‘to watch over,’ and my personal favorite, ‘to keep an eye on.’ Why is that my favorite? Because it brings some wonderful Scriptures to mind, such as:

“Keep me as the apple of Your eye…” (Psalm 17:8 NKJV). “…I will guide you with My eye.” (Psalm 32:8 NKJV). “Behold, the Lord’s eye is upon those who fear Him [who revere and worship Him with awe]…” (Psalm 33:18 AMP).

There’s something so comforting in knowing the ‘eyes’ of the Lord are on us (protectively, passionately and personally)!

The Lord (our Shepherd) ‘TENDS‘ us (His sheep). He keeps His eye on us! Now if that doesn’t comfort you, nothing else will! Why? Because we have complete confidence that in our darkest moments (He’s watching over us), when everything is bleak and discouraging (He’s watching over us), when there’s no-one to lean on (He’s watching over us), when we’re beaten, defeated and deflated (He’s watching over us). When we’re crying and broken-hearted (He’s watching over us). When there’s no where else to go but into a cave of despair, (Yes, even there, He’s watching over us).

Our Shepherd TENDS‘ us, He takes care of us! He keeps His eyes on us! Encourage yourself with that today, and keep it locked in your spirit for when the next hardship arrives FedEx on your doorstep!

However, please understand that as sheep, it’s not enough to be in the PRESENCE of the shepherd, but there’s also a certain POSTURE- you need to have before Him!

To be anointed with the oil that heals and protects, the sheep must STAND STILL, LOWER ITS HEAD AND LET THE SHEPHERD DO HIS WORK!

Peter writes: “Be humble under God’s powerful hand so He will lift you up when the right time comes.” (1 Peter 5:6 NCV).

Like Paul, if God gives us the prison in Rome instead of the mission in Spain, we must accept it because we know God will ALWAYS give what is right to His people! “And will not [our just] God defend and protect and avenge His elect (His chosen ones), who cry to Him day and night? Will He defer them and delay help on their behalf?” (Luke 18:7 AMP).

Learn to position yourself properly in His presence! You’ll be amazed at what He pours on and what falls off in the process!

Lastly, the sheep doesn’t understand how the oil repels mosquitoes or heals wounds. In fact, all the sheep knows is that something happens in the presence of their shepherd, that doesn’t happen anywhere else!

And that’s all we need to know as well!

No matter how dark it is, how lonely, how burdensome, how painful, how confusing things may be, all we need to do is remain in the presence of our Shepherd, and maintain the right posture before Him, and He will take care of the rest! He’ll mend, He’ll heal, He’ll comfort, He’ll protect, He’ll guide, He’ll keep His eyes securely on us.

We simply need to speak as the Psalmist did: “Lord, I give myself to you; my God, I trust you.” (Psalm 25:1-2 NCV).

I’m So Grateful For The Shepherd/Sheep Relationship! There’s None Other Like It! Today My Heart Is Overwhelmed By Psalm 23! I Can Now, With Even Greater Confidence Declare “The Lord Is My Shepherd!”

The Lord is my Shepherd [to feed, guide, and shield me], I shall not lack.” (AMP)

“Adonai is my shepherd; I lack nothing.” (CJB)

“You, Lord, are my shepherd. I will never be in need.” (CEV)

“The Lord is my shepherd. I will always have everything I need.” (ERV)

“The Lord is my shepherd. I am never in need.” (GWT)

“The Lord is my shepherd; there is nothing I lack. (HCSB)

“Yahweh is my shepherd; I will not lack for anything.” (LEB)

“God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing.” (MSG)

“The Lord is my shepherd. He gives me everything I need.” (NIRV)

“The Lord is my Shepherd. I will have everything I need.” (NLV)

Feel Free to Join Us On Sisterhood School of Inspiration at: www.sisterhoodschoolofinspiration.blogspot.com Today’s Lesson: “Woman of the Day Wednesday: The Samaritan Woman”

Also, Follow Us On Twitter @sysmininc; See us on ooVoo/Skpe @sysmininc or Friend Us On Facebook at: www.facebook.com/DrShermaineYSanders
 
Enjoy the Day, the Devotional, and Your Loved Ones!
 
Love U 2 Life! Dr. SYS

As Always, Share With Others, and Share Your Feedback!

SYS Ministries, Inc. “Where the Inspired Word Empowers and Equips the Lives of God’s People”  {2 Timothy 3:16-17 AMP}

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2013 in Church, Empowerment, Overcomers

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to ““The Shepherd/Sheep Relationship”

  1. Pastor nathaniel G komba

    April 3, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    yes your sermon has blessed me so much thanks for the postings i am blessed

    Like

     
    • sysministriesinc

      April 4, 2013 at 7:41 am

      Thanks Pastor Nathaniel for sharing! It’s good to know the devotionals are doing what they were called to do and that’s educate, encourage and empower! Much Love and thank you for being apart of the devotional ministry, I truly appreciate it! :-)

      Like

       
  2. Dorothy

    April 3, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    Awesome and an on time word. I am truly blessed by your ministry.

    Like

     
    • sysministriesinc

      April 4, 2013 at 7:38 am

      Thank you so much Dorothy! I’m overjoyed that you’ve been encouraged and blessed! Thank you for being apart of the devotional ministry! Much Love and thanks for sharing…it made my heart glad! :-)

      Like

       
  3. Bro. John Kwoba

    April 4, 2013 at 10:33 am

    Fear is one great weapon that all of us have to get rid of. Thanks for the scripture. I am so much encouraged and will print and give to many ministers to do evangelism and teachings.

    Like

     
    • sysministriesinc

      April 4, 2013 at 12:34 pm

      Thanks Bro. John for sharing, I appreciate it and you! It makes my heart glad to hear that you’ve been encouraged! It is indeed my prayer that you will Remain Greatly Encouraged! Thank you also for sharing the devotionals with others, it’s kind of you to pass along the encouragement! Much Love and thank you for being apart of the devotional ministry, you all make it worthwhile! :-)

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,316 other followers

